CCPS Innovative Teacher of the Month 

CCPS started an incentive program for teachers this school year to recognize teachers who go above and beyond in the classroom. Monthly each school will recognize one innovative teacher. Teachers will receive a certificate and an award that will move around monthly in each school to the awarded teacher. Teachers selected from August to November will be recognized at the December 13th School Board Meeting at the County Administration Office. Teachers selected from January to April will be recognized at the May Board Meeting. 

August 2022 Innovative Teachers:


Bacon District Elementary School-Principal Mr. William Pettus

Mrs. Naomi Cook

Mrs. Cook, a second-year Kindergarten teacher, has worked to create a classroom environment that is positive, welcoming, and embraces new practices. She utilizes positive behavioral support in helping her students adjust to school and the expectations of this new environment. Mrs. Cook constantly looks for new innovative strategies and activities to engage her students. 





Eureka Elementary School-Principal Mr. Brian Hamilton

Ms. Sherry Buckler

It is my pleasure to announce that the Innovative Teacher Award for August has been presented to Sherry Buckler with her kindergarten colleagues present to help recognize her. Ms. Buckler has been working hard to adjust things in her classroom to assist her students in adjusting to the expectations of kindergarten. She also has the inclusion classroom and has been working with Mrs. Townsend, Ms. Dobson, the administration, and others within the division to try to make sure we are meeting the needs of all of the students in her classroom. She, like everyone else on our staff, has gone the extra mile. Please join me in congratulating Ms. Buckler!




Phenix Elementary School-Principal Mr. Danny Richardson

Mrs. Ashlynn Harris

Mrs. Harris is the August recipient of the Innovative Teacher Award for Phenix Elementary School. Her use of technological tools including EdPuzzle, Pandora, and Google Classroom as well as her relationship-building student activities like "Friendship Lunch" have made her a welcome addition to the staff of Phenix Elementary School! 



Central Middle School-Principal Mrs. Jessica Pillow

Mrs. Anne Hamilton

Congratulations to Mrs. Anne Hamilton!! Mrs. Hamilton received the August Innovative Teacher Award for Central Middle School.  Mrs. Hamilton is the librarian for CMS and also teaches a discovery class daily. Recently, Mrs. Hamilton incorporated writing into her discovery plans by having her students write letters and address envelopes to an elementary teacher.  The students and teachers thoroughly enjoyed this activity. 


Randolph-Henry High School-Principal Mrs. Erin Davis

Mrs. Diann Tharpe

Randolph-Henry High School would like to recognize Diann Tharpe as the August recipient of the Innovative Teacher Award. Mrs. Tharpe is a Special Education teacher who specializes in functional academics and transitions skills. She is the chairperson of the Child Study Committee, and a case manager, she coordinates our Special Olympics program, serves as a mentor to new teachers, and plays an active role on the junior grade level team. Mrs. Tharpe is a highly innovative teacher. She employs a variety of learning modalities to engage her students. Her students participate in Kahoot games, complete lessons with Generation Genius, participate in field trips and engage in real-world applications of their learning. Mrs. Tharpe finds ways to incorporate life skills such as cooking, housekeeping, shopping, as well as searching for jobs. Her students read a variety of texts and utilize assistive technology. Mrs. Tharpe sought training this summer to be certified in Orton-Gillingham techniques. This program is described as a multisensory, structured, sequential, diagnostic, and prescriptive way to teach literacy. Students in her classroom use iPads and other devices to connect the written text with speech. With these devices in conjunction with her OG methods, Mrs. Tharpe can assist nonverbal as well as students with limited vocabularies with bridging the communication gap. Her work in this area is truly remarkable. We commend Mrs. Tharpe for her commitment to providing a challenging and highly engaging environment for her students.


Several students were recognized at the September 13th School Board meeting for their participation in summer Governor's School programs. Madison Travis participated in the Summer Residential Governor's School Program for Visual and Performing Arts. As part of this program, Ms. Travis spent four weeks at Radford University studying theatre with other high school students from across Virginia. Jasmine Palmer, Charlie Critzer, Avi Kagan-Dubroff, Ragan Barton (not pictured) and Kali Turnmire (not pictured) attended the Summer Residential Governor's School. As part of this program these students spent a week in Richmond with other students from around the region studying critical thinking and innovation. The program included clinics at the Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) School of Engineering and tours of the Virginia Museum of Science.
Madison Travis, Jasmine Palmer, Charlie Critzer, Avi Kagan-Dubroff
Below is information about the Federal Communication Commission’s (FCC’s) Affordable Connectivity Program (ACP). This program provides support for households with their internet costs. You are likely eligible if your household’s income is below 200% of the Federal Poverty Line, or if you or someone you live with currently receives a government benefit like SNAP, Medicaid, SSI, WIC, Pell Grant, or Free and Reduced-Price Lunch.
To determine your eligibility select the link below:

The FCC’s Affordable Connectivity Program (ACP) allows qualifying households to reduce their internet costs by up to $30/month ($75/month on Tribal lands). Getinternet.gov is a simple, easy-to-use website with details on how households can sign up for ACP and find participating providers in their area. Several companies additionally committed to offer ACP-eligible families at least one high-speed plan for $30/month or less, with no additional fees and no data caps. This means that if households apply their ACP benefit to one of these plans, they would have no out-of-pocket cost for internet.

Eligibility status questions should be directed to Ms. Christine Powell at 434-542-5151 or at [email protected].

Below are after-school remediation programming dates for the 2022-2023 school year.

September: 6, 8, 13, 15, 20, 22, 27, 29 

October: 4, 6, 11, 13, 18, 20, 25, 27 

November: 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, 17, 22, 29

December: 1, 6, 8 

January: 10, 12, 17, 19, 24, 26, 31

February: 2, 7, 9, 14, 16, 21, 23, 28

March: 2, 7, 9, 14, 16, 21, 23, 28, 30

April: 4, 6, 18, 20, 25, 27 

May: 2, 4, 9, 11

  Please click here for Remediation Bus Routes       


This is a reminder that the wireless hot spots are set up at each elementary school and at the School Board Office parking lots. The network is open twenty-four hours, seven days a week, and is intended for students and the community to use until further notice. 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.